Web Content Viewer

About the Collaborative

Who We Are

The Ohio Collaborative, a 12-person panel of law enforcement experts and community leaders from throughout the state, established Ohio's first state law enforcement standards on August 28, 2015. These standards will hold everyone accountable and instill a greater confidence with the public. The Collaborative works closely with partners, including the community and law enforcement agencies, to implement new standards. All law enforcement agencies are expected to meet or exceed these standards as they develop policies and procedures to meet new expectations. The Collaborative also provides model policies as a resource for agencies, and OCJS serves as a contact and is available to assist agencies with implementation. More than 570 law enforcement agencies employing over 29,000 officers (in all 88 counties, representing 87 percent of all law enforcement officers in Ohio and most of Ohio’s metropolitan departments) are participating in the certification process.

Board Members

  • Chair, Karen Huey, Assistant Director, Ohio Department of Public Safety
  • Comm. Lori Barreras, Ohio Civil Rights Commission
  • The Hon. Michael Bell, Former Mayor of Toledo
  • Rep. Juanita Brent, Ohio Representative
  • Dr. Ronnie Dunn, Associate Professor, Cleveland State University
  • Dr. Robin S. Engel, National Policing Institute
  • Officer Anthony L. Johnson, Columbus Police Department
  • BCI Supt. Joe Morbitzer, Ohio Attorney General's Office
  • Rev. Walter S. Moss, Pastor and CIRV Project Director, Stark County Prosecutor's Office
  • Chief Justin Paez, Dublin Police Department
  • Pros. Melissa A. Schiffel, Delaware County
  • Sheriff Rob Streck, Montgomery County

Ex Officio Members

  • Sen. Sandra Williams, Ohio Senator
  • Rep. Phil Plummer, Ohio Representative
  • The Hon. Tom Roberts, Former Ohio Senator
  • The Late Hon. Louis Stokes. Former Member of Congress
  • The Late Hon. George V. Voinovich, Former U.S. Senator, Governor of Ohio, and Mayor of Cleveland

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Ohio Collaborative?

Gov. John R. Kasich established the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory board to oversee implementation of recommendations from the Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations. The creation of a community law enforcement advisory panel will begin developing – for the first time in Ohio history – state standards that can help guide law enforcement agencies in Ohio.

What are the elements of a standard?

For the first time, Ohio’s law enforcement agencies now have a set of minimum standards for the use of deadly force and for recruitment and hiring. A standard must consist of four elements:

  • Policy/procedure
  • Knowledge/Awareness (read and sign)
  • Proficiency (Roll-call training/quizzes)
  • Compliance (agency activity and accountability)

How will agencies know about the standards?

The Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services (OCJS), a division of the Ohio Department of Public Safety, have begun communicating these new standards to Ohio’s nearly 1,000 law enforcement agencies and the Ohio Collaborative has sent a letter to police departments and sheriffs’ offices. OCJS will be available to assist with implementation and will publish a report by March 31, 2017, listing which state and local law enforcement departments have adopted and fully implemented the new minimum standards.

How will agencies implement these standards?

Most agencies in Ohio already have standards in place; it is our expectation that all agencies in Ohio will meet or exceed these standards. The Ohio Collaborative will develop model policies as a resource for agencies, and OCJS will serve as a contact for them as well. OCJS can be reached at (888) 448-4842.

What happens next?

This is just the first milestone for the Ohio Collaborative, who will continue to work to implement recommendations from the Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations and strengthening the bond between police and the communities they serve. The Collaborative plans to meet on a regular basis to discuss additional standards as well as a public awareness campaign.

Background - Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations

In December 2014, Gov. John R. Kasich signed Executive Order 2014-06K, announcing the Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations after a series of incidents in Ohio and around the nation highlighted the challenges between the community and police. The task force included 24 members representing the governor, legislature, attorney general, the Supreme Court of Ohio, local law enforcement, organized labor, local community leaders, the faith-based community, business, municipalities and prosecuting attorneys.

On April 29, 2015, after a series of public forums held around the state, the task force delivered its final report to the Governor, who in turn signed Executive Order 2015-04K, established the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board (Ohio Collaborative) to oversee implementation of recommendations from the Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations.

Public Forum Summaries

University of Cincinnati - March 9, 2015

University of Toledo - February 26, 2015

Central State University - February 9, 2015

Cleveland State University - January 20, 2015

Task Force Members

The Task Force was made up of the following members:

  • The Honorable George V. Voinovich of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), former U.S. senator, governor and mayor of Cleveland, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • The Honorable Louis Stokes of Beachwood (Cuyahoga Co.), former member of Congress, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • The Honorable Evelyn Lundberg Stratton of Columbus (Franklin Co.), former Ohio Supreme Court justice, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • Director John Born of Lancaster (Fairfield Co.), Ohio Department of Public Safety, Co-Chair;
  • The Honorable Nina Turner of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), former Ohio senator, Co-Chair;
  • Officer Brian S. Armstead of Akron (Summit Co.), Akron Police Department and member of the Fraternal Order of Police;
  • Philip E. Cole of Columbus (Franklin Co.), executive director, Ohio Association of Community Action Agencies;
  • Dr. Ronnie Dunn of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), Cleveland State University associate professor, member of the NAACP Criminal Justice Committee;
  • The Reverend Damon Lynch III of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), senior pastor, New Prospect Baptist Church;
  • Bernie Moreno of Westlake (Cuyahoga Co.), president, Bernie Moreno Companies;
  • Anthony Munoz of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), former Cincinnati Bengals football player, member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame;
  • Councilwoman Amy Murray of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.);
  • The Most Reverend George Murry of Youngstown (Mahoning Co.), Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Youngstown;
  • Chief Michael J. Navarre of Toledo (Lucas Co.), currently with the Oregon Police Department, formerly with the Toledo Police Department, member of the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police;
  • The Honorable Ronald J. O’Brien of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Franklin County Prosecutor;
  • Andre T. Porter of Gahanna (Franklin Co.), Public Utilities Commission of Ohio;
  • Sheriff Vernon P. Stanforth of Washington Court House (Fayette Co.), member of the Buckeye State Sheriffs’Association;
  • The Honorable Tom Roberts, Ohio Civil Rights Commission , Ohio Conference and Dayton Unit of NAACP Political Action chairman;
  • Senator Cliff K. Hite of Findlay (Hancock Co.), Senate President designee
  • Senator Sandra Williams of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), Senate Minority Leader designee
  • Representative Tim Derickson of Hanover Twp. (Butler Co.), House Majority designee
  • Representative Alicia M. Reece of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), president, Ohio Legislative Black Caucus, House Minority Leader designee
  • Sara Andrews of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Chief Justice’s designee
  • Tannisha D. Bell of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Attorney General’s designee